May 28, 2013

  • Never Too Late.

    Song – Dare You To Move by Switchfoot

    Want to know what is so great about life? There is always something to discover. In the beginning of my freshman year of college, I went to a club triathlon interest meeting. Looking for something new, I thought this would be my thing. After going to several meetings, I just did not connect with anyone on the team. I was that shy freshman just trying to find my place somewhere on campus. I went ahead and bought a uniform. But that was all I did. Other things such as classes and friends distracted me and the triathlon club was history.

    Here I am three years later with a useless uniform and road bike. I had one of those moments today where I was wondering what will be discovered next. I have come so far with running in the past few years. It all began with a 5k during the 2010 homecoming weekend at JMU. My interest in running maxed out to the Philadelphia Marathon this past November. What I gained from this running experience was commitment and passion. 

    In order to do something you love, you must have commitment and passion. Without passion, there is no commitment and without commitment, there is no passion. 

    I want something more. I realized that timing was not right when I discovered triathlon my freshman year. Being new to college means there is so much to take in at once. It was hard to create a new lifestyle. But with time, I found my place. Now that I have one year left, I am by far more capable to try again. I love my life here because my friends, classes, and social life make me happy. It is time to take my running ability to another level. Biking and swimming are now going to be a part of me. I am ready.

    It is never too late.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *